Songs of Sojourning

Your statutes have been my songs in the house of my sojourning. I remember your name in the night, O Lord, and keep your law. This blessing has fallen to me, that I have kept your precepts. ~ Psalm 119:54-55

When I think about songs I like to sing on a trip, they’re usually my favorite songs. They’re the ones that my family has heard so often they’re sick of them, and they’re the ones I could sing in my sleep I love them so much, and the ones that just come to mind quickly for no apparent reason.

The psalmist here calls God’s words his songs “in the house of my sojourning.” He loved God’s law so much he could sing it in his sleep, all his friends and relations were tired of hearing it, God’s law was always at the forefront of his mind. How did he develop that untiring love for God’s Word?

In the very next verse, the psalmist describes how often he’s been meditating on scripture. He remembers God’s name in the night, thinking on truth as he falls asleep, and striving to know God’s law so he can keep it. Then he says it’s a blessing to him just to be able to keep God’s law.

He ran God’s word through his mind by meditating on truth and he ran God’s word through his heart by singing truth. If we believers want to have that untiring love for God’s word, having His truth always at the forefront of our minds, we can’t tire of truth. We can’t tire of washing our minds and hearts and voices in scripture. When I am discouraged or tempted to despair or just lonely, God’s word provides all the songs I could ever need for my sojourn.

“How can a young man keep his way pure? By guarding it according to your word.” ~ Psalm 119:9

Leave a comment